INTERVIEW: Hine!

Tell us a little about yourself…

My name is Hine (pronounced [hee-neh]) Mizushima. I’m an illustrator, a needle felting artist, a slow crafter and a puppet-based stop-motion animation video artist (mostly music videos for They Might Be Giants). Born and raised in Japan, I majored in traditional Japanese painting at university. After working as a designer/illustrator in Tokyo, I moved to Rome, then Paris, then Brooklyn. Now I live in Vancouver, Canada with my husband, our son and my cat.

I create things almost all the time, but I also love the Internet (addict level), reading, watching movies, shopping & window shopping, listening to music, hanging out with my friends, and going to cheap but great local restaurants (especially Asian food!) on the weekends.


What sort of crafts do you make and how long you have been making them?

I usually use felt and wool, which are my favorite materials, and make needlefelted creatures and gadget cases. I had always just done illustrations, but three or four years ago, after I moved to Vancouver, I started 3D.


What does your workspace look like and what is your work time schedule for the things you make?

My workspace is a small bright studio in our house, which is also my favorite place, and usually looks like a bomb went off in it. I basically stay in my studio from morning to night making things. Everything I need for my work is here. I even make my stop-motion videos here.


Inspiration, where does yours come from? Any favorite artists or people/groups you admire?

My inspiration comes from everywhere: art, design, music, videos, books, creatures, internet, colors, things that I misheard or saw and mistook for something else, etc…

My favorite artists or people/groups I admire are:
Salvia (A Japanese Zakka design): www.salvia.jp/index.html
Orla Kiely: www.orlakiely.com/
They Might Be Giants: www.theymightbegiants.com/
Bell & Sebastian: www.belleandsebastian.com/
Elin Thomas: www.flickr.com/photos/elinfelt/
and many others!


Do you have any tips you could give to beginners that dabble in your sort of crafts?

Try to make things that you really love!


Where can we find you?

Artwork: web.mac.com/sheishine/iWeb/Site/Welcome.html
Etsy shop: www.hine.etsy.com
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/sheishine/
Twitter (English) : twitter.com/hine_art
Facebook: www.facebook.com/hine.mizushima
Handmade Videos: vimeo.com/user140079
Blog & news ( 70% Japanese ļ¼‹ 30% English + lots of images) : hennageijutsu.blogspot.com/

Next show: Opening March 3rd: A four-ring Needle Felting Extravaganza! at gallery hanahou in NYC: www.galleryhanahou.com

One thought on “INTERVIEW: Hine!

Leave a Reply

