INTERVIEW: Michele from Sharpen Your Teeth

Tell us a little about yourself…

The name’s Michele. I live with my husband who tattoos, and 2 sons in Portland, OR. I’m a Part time crafter, and a full time mum. My great grandmother taught me how to sew when I was a young girl, but it was not till recent years that I put the skill to work.  I love all things cute, sushi, art, cooking, and crafting. I hate the idea of packaging, but I am a sucker for simplistic, minimal packaging with over the top style. I also dream of being a farm girl, and caring for chickens, goats, and a donkey.

What sort of crafts do you make and how long you have been making them?

It started with knitting, but I soon realized that there were much more possibilities with my sewing machine. About a year ago I fell in love with quilting, and everything that came after that stemmed from the love of quilting.  I have never been able to commit to one thing, so everything I do is to keep me from getting bored of the previous thing.  This years crafts have been pillows, embroidery hoops, granny squares, and other small quick crafts like key fobs and pot holders.  I also enjoy hand carving rubber stamps, embroidery, needle felting, and photography.

What does your workspace look like and what is your work time schedule for the things you make?

My work space leaves much to be desired, but I am fortunate enough to have a dedicated room to house my fabrics, yarns, ironing board, and sewing desk. With 2 very young boys, I find myself in the craft room after dark. I find a little mental clarity in my workspace once they are asleep. As for schedules… unless I am working on something for a bee, swap, or gift  there is not usually a schedule. I work when I can, and that’s as good as it gets for the time being.

Inspiration, where does yours come from? Any favorite artists or people/groups you admire?

There is never a lack of inspiration. There is always something i want to try or do that i have not yet accomplished. I find much of my inspiration in filling a need in my life. If I need some new potholders, I’m going to make them, and if i don’t know how… there’s always a lovely tutorial on one of my favorite blogs. I follow many bloggers. Oh, Fransson, Whip up, Prudent Baby, Milky robot,  Alamode… there are too many great blogs to list. I find loads of inspiration on flickr as well. There are so many talented people who showcase their work there.

Do you have any tips you could give to beginners that dabble in your sort of crafts?

Practice… It’s never perfect the first time. I myself am a sponge, and I’m always trying to figure out new things, so i guess a good bit of advice would be to never let yourself stagnate. There are several ways to do a certain project, so explore your options and find what works best for you! I have also found that joining swaps and bees has pushed me to try lots of new things. That is never a bad thing.

Where can we find you?

One thought on “INTERVIEW: Michele from Sharpen Your Teeth

Leave a Reply

