INTERVIEW: Renee from Spun Right Round

Tell us a little about yourself…

Hello! I’m a 30-something year old who can’t sit still and who saves all her chinese fortunes. I live in central New York in a beautiful farmhouse that I share with my boyfriend, 4 cats and two beautiful angora rabbits. I love antiquing, baking, indian food and cocktails!


What sort of crafts do you make and how long you have been doing them?

I’ve been knitting for almost 10 years and starting spinning yarn about 3 years ago.
I also enjoy quilting and anything that involves block printing or screen printing. I’m in love with the darkroom but have a ridiculous amount of cameras collecting dust! I guess you can say that I’m a collector of hobbies and I’m not sure if that is a good thing or a bad thing!

What does your workspace look like and what is your work time schedule for the things you make?

The workspace is everywhere but the studio is a spare bedroom upstairs in our home. It’s super convenient because it has a separate staircase and a secret door in the closet which leads to the milk barn that is attached to the house! It’s like the lion the witch and the wardrobe!

Inspiration, where does yours come from? Any favorite artists or people/groups you admire?

Anything from the sunshine to bright colors, textures and good conversation.
I really enjoy the work of Angelique Houtkamp. Old circus posters and carnival prizes stir up the creativity along with browsing Print & Pattern, Flickr and magazines.

Do you have any tips you could give to beginners that dabble in your sort of crafts?

Try everything that remotely interests you because one thing always leads to another! You’ll never know what works, what doesn’t and if you’ll even enjoy doing something unless you give it a whirl.

Where can we find you? (Facebook, blog, etsy, etc)

Leave a Reply

